logo
twitterfacebookin
Call 24 Hour Services : +91 9399924666
9000108666
Email : globaltravels666@gmail.com

Hyderabad

The eternal city of love, art, and history, flourishing together in perfect harmony making it one of the most enchanting places in the world. Hyderabad's warm hospitality, impressive monuments, mosques, minarets, art and architectural richness, and technological progress will take you through an amazing journey of its glorious past and a spirited voyage into its promising future.

Experience a unique blend of the old dominion and rustic charm within the trappings of new age modernity.

Places to Visit

A splendid piece of architecture standing in the heart of the city built by Quli Qutub Shah, in 1591. This magnificent monument is the unique symbol of Hyderabad. Charminar is often called as "The Arc de triomphe of the East". It is considered as the legendary masterpiece of Qutub Shahi's. This beautiful structure derives its name from four intricately carved minarets, The four graceful minarets literally meaning 'Four Minars', soar to a height of 48.7m each, above the ground. It is located amidst the colourful shops of Lad Bazaar with its glittering traditional bangles in the old city. Enormous in its size, this imposing monument exudes a charm that is more than 400 years old.

The Qutub Shahi Reign : The history of Hyderabad begins with the establishment of the Qutub Shahi dynasty. Owing to the inadequacy of water and frequent epidemics of plague and cholera Quli Qutub Shah established the new city with the Charminar at its centre with four great roads fanning out in four cardinal directions. The plan is a square, each side 20m long, while the four arches are 11m wide and rise 20m from the plinth. The four-storeyed minarets rise 20m from the roof of the massive monument and measure 24m from the plinth. The western section of the roof contains a mosque, ranking among the finest the gifted Qutub Shahi artisans ever built.

Golconda Fort is one of the most wonderful monuments, located 11 km. from Hyderabad, the capital of Andhra Pradesh. The name of Golconda originates from the telgu words "Golla" and "Konda" which means 'shepard's hill'. One of the most important features of this fort is that the sounds of hands clapped at the entry gate can be heard quite clearly at the top of the hill.

History of Golconda Fort :

The 13th century Golconda Fort was built by the Kakatiya kings. The existing structure was later built by Qutub Shahi Kings into a massive fort with granite walls having eight gates and 87 bastions spread upto 7 kms, in circumference over a span of 62 years. Golconda Fort, popularly known in Telgu as "Golla Konda", which means "Shepherd's Hill", has an exotic story behind it. In 1143, on the rocky hill known as 'Mangalavaram', a shepherd boy came across an image and conveyed to the Kakatiya king, who was ruling at that time. The 10km long road from Golconda to outer Hyderabad was a fantastic market selling jewellery, diamonds, pearls and other gems, popular in all over the world.

Attractions Within The Fort :

One of the most interesting look of Golconda Fort is its system of acoustics. The sounds of hands clapped at the entry gate can be heard clearly at 'Bala Hissar', the highest point, a kilometre away, palaces, factories, water supply system and the famous 'Rahban' cannon, that was used during the last seize of Golconda by Aurangazeb, to whom the fort ultimately fell.

Taramathi Gana and Premathi Nritya Mandir

You can see two separate pavilions in outside of Golconda Fort, built on a rocky prominence the Taramathi Gana Mandir and the Premathi Nritya Mandir, both the legendary sisters Taramathi and Premamathi resided. Both gave their performance on a circular dais atop a two-storied structure, the Kala Mandir, which was visible from the king's durbar (king's court) on top of the Golconda Fort.

Located about a kilometer north from Golconda Fort, the Qutub Shahi tombs represent the most authentic and majestic display of the Qutub Shahi dynasty architectural traditions today. The grandeur of the tombs is ensconced amidst the beautiful and picturesque landscape and gardens of Ibrahim Bagh, and the tombs themselves are dedicated to the seven Qutub Shahi kings who ruled Golconda for nearly 170 years. The style of the tombs are varied, displaying Hindu, Persian, and Pathan forms–Indo-Persian architectures that are influenced by Deccani structural ideas. As a result, a distinct Qutub Shari school of architecture marked by liberal use of minarets, arches, domes, and columns was born.

The tombs differ in size but all are comparable to each other in architectural grandeur and beauty. Ironically, one of the most modest of these tombs belong to the Qutub Shahi dynasty founder, Sultan Quli Qutub-ul-Mulk. He built his tomb himself and it is just marked by simplicity and design symmetry, standing on a platform 30 meters on each side. From the plinth, the walls and the dome measure 12 meters while the ramparts have four Bahmani-style bouquets on each side of the tomb. Inside, the shape is octagonal with each side having a width of as much as 10 meters. Quli Qutub-ul-Mulk’s son’s tomb, Sultan Jamsheed Quli Qutub Shah, is also quite modest although extremely imposing, as it is standing on a high quadrangular platform. Among all the royal tombs, it is the only one that does not use black basalt in its construction.

Easily the most impressive, though, is the tomb of Hyderabad’s founder, Muhammed Quli Qutub Shah. It rises to a height of 42.5 meters, topped by a large dome. 28 open arches are located on each side. The tomb was constructed on a two-tiered terrace designed to look like a captivating gallery, complete with false openings and two central pillars. Minarets and rich ornamental parapets complete the Islamic architecture.

Mecca Masjid in Hyderabad is situated near Charminar. Mecca Masjid is the earliest as well as the largest of the all the mosques in the city. As many as 10,000 people are able to offer prayers here at the same time.

The history of the city tells us that Mohammad Quli Qutub Shah initiated the building of the Masjid in 1617 while the Mughal Emperor Aurangazeb finished its construction in 1694. The Mecca Masjid of Hyderabad lies at a distance of only 100 yards from the very well known monument of Charminar.

There is quite a fascinating story behind the naming of this mosque. The people say that some of the bricks with which the mosque has been made were brought from Mecca. Therefore the name, Mecca Masjid has been given to it.

You will find 15 arches giving support to the hall of the Mecca Masjid. Three walls of this huge hall have each got five arches. This massive hall has a height of 75 feet, a width of 220 feet and a length of 180 feet. This dimension clearly shows you how it can house about 10,000 people together during prayers. You will be astonished to know that around 8000 workers were employed to build up this beautiful mosque. It took them as long as 77years to construct the mosque.

Thousands and thousands of sermons from the holy Quran were written on the arches of the Mecca Masjid. Whenever you go to the artificial pond over there, you will have a feeling of quietness and serenity. The mosque houses a museum in the courtyard that preserves ancient and holy relics. The hair of Prophet Mohammed has been preserved here.

The State of Andhra established purely on linguistic basis, comprising the Telugu speaking areas of the erstwhile Madras State, was officially formed at Kurnool on 1st October, 1953. According to the Andhra Pradesh Act, 1953 Unicameral Legislature was set up.

In the Old Hyderabad State. the first elected body, i.e., the Hyderabad Legislative Assembly came into being on 1st March, 1952. In November, 1956 the former Hyderabad State was trifurcated and the elected members from Telangana, Marathwada and Karnataka regions of the Hyderabad State joined the elected Legislatures of Andhra Pradesh, Maharastra and Karnataka States respectively on 1st November, 1956. The Telugu speaking districts of the former Hyderabad state were added to the Andhra State and the State was renamed as Andhra Pradesh.

From 1956 to 1958 the Andhra Pradesh Legislature was Unicameral and from 1958 when the Council was formed, it became bicameral and continued till 1st June, 1985 when the Legislative Council was abolished. Since then the Andhra Pradesh Legislature has become once again Unicameral.

At present the Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh consists of 295 Members including one Member nominated from Anglo-Indian Community.

The sitting timings of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly ordinarily commences at 9 A.M. and concludes at 2:00 P.M. unless the Hon'ble Speaker otherwise directs and if necessary, the House meets in the evening also

Founded in 1918 by the Seventh Nizam of Hyderabad state, Nawab Mir Osman Ali Khan,[2] higher learning in India, the third oldest in southern India and the first to be established in the erstwhile princely State of Hyderabad.[3] For almost nine decades, it has sustained an integrated development of all faculties. It has contributed to the academic, social, and economic development of the region and the nation as a whole.

Its alumni have distinguished themselves nationally and internationally (See Notable Alumni section).

Present the state government appointed Prof S Satyanarayana as vice chancellor of osmania university. Osmania University is accredited by the NAAC with 'A' Grade and also conferred with the status of 'University with Potential for Excellence' by the UGC, New Delhi Today the medium of instruction is English.

Education, research and admissions

Osmania university is a non-profit university, which is funded and managed by the government. Admissions into bachelor of engineering, masters and doctoral programs of this university is purely on a merit basis, evaluated by national entrance examinations for each of the courses offered. The research activities are funded by various agencies like UGC (University Grants Commission) or by CSIR (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research) DBT (Department of Biotechnology), DRDO ( Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)) etc... which are autonomous agencies of government of India.

Almost all the temples in South India have an ancient history behind it. Unlike such temples, there adorns a Hindu temple of Lord Venkateshwara in Hyderabad. A quarter century old, this temple was built by Birlas, the well-known Industrialists. Yes, we are talking about the familiar and favourite attraction for all the Hyderabadis, the Birla Temple. Though the temple is dedicated to Lord Venkateshwara with His two wives Goddesses Padmavathi and Goddesses Andal, it is named after Birlas as Birla Mandir or Birla temple. The temple resides on a hillock, called as Kala Pahad, one of the twins of Naubat Pahad.

The temple is built entirely with white marbles (about 70 tons) brought from Rajasthan. It took about ten years to build this temple. The temple brings together the architectural style of Rajasthani, Utkal and other South Indian temples. The main temple is built in Utkal temple style while the temple of the Lord s two consorts is built as per the South Indian architectural style. Before you enter the main sanctum sanctorum, there is a four-storied rajagopuram (the main tower) built in garudalaya style of South Indian temples. The intricately carved structure beyond the Gopuram depicts the Dilwara temple style while the Jagadananda Vimanam or the main tower resembles the architecture of the Lingaraj Temple at Bhubaneswar. A 42 feet lofty dhwaja stambham made of brass, stands before the presiding deity, just outside the main temple. Unlike the idols seen in the temples built by the Birlas, which are made of white marble, this temple has an idol that is carved out of black granite brought from Phirangipuram in Guntur District. The granite used was specially mined and transported to Hyderabad for this purpose. The eleven feet tall idol of Lord Venkateshwara stands graciously in the main sanctum sanctorum.

When you enter this main sanctum sanctorum, just above the main statue of the Lord, you can see a lotus-shaped covering made of marble. This is superbly carved and illuminated during night times. There is a mukha mandapam that is lined with sculptures and scenes showing some of the episodes from the Ramayana and Mahabharata.

Ramoji Film City - The land of movies, entertainment and magic, it has everything that dreams are made of. Offering unlimited fun, thrill and excitement, its a great visual extravaganza. Experience and get enthralled by its exquisite and lavish gardens, spell binding movie sets, spectacular attractions, enchanting entertainment shows, food, shopping, unmatched hospitality, unmatched hospitality, and of course the glitz and glamour of the silver screen - The ultimate holiday destination for the entire family.

Built in the 16th century, the lake was named to express the gratitude of Ibrahim Quli Qutub Shah to Hussain Shah Wali who helped him to recover from illness. It is a sprawling artificial lake that holds water perennially, built during the reign of Ibrahim Qutub Shah, across a tributary of the river Musi in 1562. Linking the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad, the lake and its environs have several parks and scenic spots. The broad road on the tank bund is lined with lawns, and statues of 33 famous personalities of the state (which are now partially destroyed) stand along the bund. The lake was a notorious as a suicide location. This has reduced in the last few decades, possibly due to the worsening water quality.

The beautiful, well-laid-out Lumbini Park, part of the Buddha Purnima project, has a musical fountain. The lake is encompassed on one side by the Lumbini amusement park. There is the enchanting Birla Mandir hewn on a hillock nearby. Standing on the Tank Bund at night, one is awe-struck to see the glimmering row of lights outlining the lake that look like “a diamond studded necklace”. This is the necklace road designed to enhance the beauty of Hussain Sagar.

This boulevard has beautiful gardens on both sides, with well-laid foot paths and benches, and a good volume of traffic running in between. This road gets busy during the evenings as people come here to enjoy the view and cool air from the lake and to relax at gardens. Moving further from the Tank bund road towards the other side one can connect with the Necklace road, which is another popular boulevard which many consider as a twin to the Tank bund. The sailing club is close to the Tank bund, where many sailors participate in events held throughout the year, in spite of the terrible water quality.

Parallel to the Tank bund, is the Lower Tank Bund road which was primarily built to reduce traffic congestion. This road is heralded by the well known Missamma temple, the sprawling green Indira Park, Bharat Sevashram Sangha, Ramakrishna Mission and Snow world.

The ‘Secret Lake’ is situated close to Shilparamam Crafts Village and Hitec City, behind Jubilee Hills. AP Tourism organizes boating in the lake. ‘Something Fishy’, a bar Secret Lake (Durgam Cheruvu)

A short half hour drive out of Hyderabad brings you to the popular tourist destination of Osman Sagar Lake. More popularly known as Gandipet, the 46 sq. km artificial lake has attracted revelers to it since the Nizam’s time.

Feel the cool breeze against your face as you stand on the embankment and sip a hot cup of tea. Vendors do brisk business selling small snacks. Yummy delicacies are available at a small cafeteria.

The embankment is bordered by landscaped parks and lawns on all sides and makes for a great picnic spot. You will often see picnickers lounging around, atop brightly colored durries, eating out of large picnic hampers or playing cards.

A princely summer retreat house called Sagar Mahal, overlooks the lake and affords a spectacular view of the lake. This heritage building has been converted into a comfortable Resort by the Andhra Pradesh Tourism Department. The cozy cottages here make for a very pleasant weekend getaway with family or friends.

The lake and its reservoir are a beautiful sight to behold when the Indian monsoons are in full swing.

The Salar Jung Museum was established in 1951. The major portion of the collection of the museum was acquired by Mir Yousuf Ali Khan, popularly known as Salar Jung III. In the absence of any direct descendants of Salar Jung III, the Government of India appointed a Committee to administer the Salar Jung Estate. Later on with the idea of perpetuating his name, the Salar Jung Museum was brought into existence on 16th December, 1951 in Diwan Deodi, the residential palace of Salar Jung III and opened to the public by Pandit Jawarharlal Nehru, the then Prime Minister of India. In 1958, the Government of India took over the museum through a compromise deed. Till 1958 this museum was administered by the Salar Jung Estate Committee. Thereafter the Museum continued to be administered by the Ministry of Scientific Research and Cultural Affairs, Government of India till 1961. In 1961, through an Act of Parliament, the Salar Jung Museum along with its library was declared as an “Institution of National Importance”.

The administration of the museum was transferred to an Autonomous Board, having the Governor of A.P. as its Chairman. The museum was transferred to its present building in the year 1968.

The family of Salar Jungs had assumed such great importance that five of its family members served as Prime Ministers to the Nizams, who were the erstwhile rulers of Hyderabad.

Mir Turab Ali Khan - Salar Jung I, was awarded the title of Salar Jung Bahadur at the age of 13 years. At the age of 24 years he was appointed as Prime Minister by the then Nizam, Nasir-ud- Daulah. He was a great administrator, known for his reforms and also a connoisseur of art. He died in the year 1882.

His eldest son, Mir Laiq Ali Khan was appointed as first Secretary to the Council of Regency and later on as a member of the Council of State. He was appointed as Prime Minister in 1884 A.D. by the then Nizam, Mir Mehboob Ali Khan. He spent most of his time in continuing the social reforms which were discontinued by his father Mir Turab Ali Khan, Salar Jung I. When he was only 26 years old he died at Poona, leaving behind an infant of 24 days, Abul Qasim Mir Yousuf Ali Khan.

Osman sagar was created by damming the Musi River in 1920, for providing drinking water source for Hyderabad, and also saving the city from floods, on the lines of which Hyderabad suffered in 1908. It was during the reign of The Last Nizam of Hyderabad, Osman Ali Khan, hence the name.

A princely guest house called Sagar Mahal, overlooking the lake, now a heritage building, was built as a summer resort of the last Nizam. It is located on the banks and has the best view of the lake. Andhra Pradesh Tourism Department [1], currently, runs the place as a resort. The breeze of the lake is very pleasant, and has been popular with the locals since The Nizam's time.

It is a popular tourist destination, especially after the rainy season when the reservoir is full, and its parks, resorts, amusement park are a major attraction. This lake had served drinking water for Hyderabad city but due to increase in population it is not sufficient for water supply to Hyderabad city and so now it is used for public recreation.

It is located close to another lake, Himayat Sagar......

 

Enter Your Details

Gallery

gallery
> GOA > Swaraj Mazada > ANDAMAN and NICOBAR
Global Tours and Travels
Phone : (40) - 64592666, 24022557
info@globaltourandtravels.com
www.globaltourandtravels.com
> Pondicherry > Tata Indica > Lakshadweep
> Vizag > Scorpio > Blog
     
Home | About Us | Tariff Car Rentals | | Request | Contact Us
  Copyrights Reserved @ www.globaltourandtravels.com All Rights Reserved. SEO By SOFTWOOD