Call 24 Hour Services : +91 9399924666
Email : globaltravels666@gmail.com


Medak is a district in the state of Andhra Pradesh bound by Warangal and Nalgonda districts in the east and Hyderabad district in the south. From the western side, this district shares its boundaries with Karnataka state and from northern side, with Nizamabad district. The district is divided into 45 mandals, out of which the headquarters is based at Sangareddi.

Major rivers flowing through the district are Manjeera, Valdhi, Gudleruvagu and Kadaleru. This district is spread over an area of 9,699 sq. km, out of which 9.96% is covered by forest. At Medak district, people are engaged in agriculture and allied activities.

Places to Visit in Medak

The Medak Fort lies in Medak town which is the district headquarters of Medak District. The fort was initially known as Methuku Durgam and was constructed in the 12th century by the Kakatiyan rulers. Later, several modifications and renovations were done to the structure by the Qutub Shahi rulers.

The architecture of the fort represents a blend of Hindu and Islamic styles. The three main entrances of the fort are known as the Prathama Dwaram, Simha Dwaram and Gaja Dwaram. The huge boundary walls of the fort have several bastions carved from the rocks and boulders of the hillock.

The fort has a 17th century mosque that was constructed by the Qutub Shahi rulers. These rulers also added a 3.2 m long cannon to the fort during the mid 17th century to secure the fort from the attack of neighbouring kingdoms.

The Medak Cathedral is located near the city centre of Medak. This church is considered as the seat of the Bishop and is counted amongst the largest churches in South India. The cathedral controls the Diocese of Medak, which is the second largest in the world and the single largest diocese in Asia.

The church was consecrated on 25th December, 1924. The cathedral stands on the site where a small worshipping place for Christians was located during the 19th century. It was constructed on the orders of Charles Walker Posnett, an administrator of the British army soldiers at Trimulgherry.

The Pocharam Reservoir, also known as the Pocharam Dam Reservoir, is located around 14.6 km from the city centre of Medak. The reservoir was constructed between 1916 and 1922 across the Allair River, a tributary of the Manjira River.

The Nizam’s Bungalow, situated near the reservoir, was constructed in 1918. The island located in the centre of the reservoir is home to various species of shrubs. Boats are available near the reservoir for reaching the island.

The Pocharam Wildlife Sanctuary is located on the shores of the Pocharam Lake. Spreading over an area of around 130 sq km, this sanctuary covers regions of Nizamabad and Medak districts. The sanctuary, having southern tropical mixed dry deciduous forests, provides natural habitat to five species of antelope and deer.

This densely covered forest area is home to leopard, wild dog, forest cat, wolf, sloth bear, jackal, sambar and nilgai. The four horned antelope, chinkara and chital are some of the other animals inhabiting the sanctuary.

The Pocharam Reservoir is the closest water body to the sanctuary, where birds like bar-headed goose, brahminy duck and painted stork can be spotted. The best time to visit this sanctuary is between the months of November and January.

The Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy temple is located on the Hyderabad-Nagpur Highway in the Gajwel town of Medak District. This temple is dedicated to Lord Narasimha Swamy, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu.

The temple is situated on the banks of River Haridra, which is renowned for its curing properties. This ancient temple has several small shrines dedicated to other gods and goddesses, like Lord Shiva, Sri Anjaneya Swamy, Lord Rama, Goddess Sita and Lord Garuda.

Koti Lingeswara Swamy temple is an ancient shrine located at Siddipet, a small town in Medak District. The temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva, the presiding deity of the region. This temple also has a small check-dam in its vicinity, which is considered to be sacred.

Sri Venugopala Swamy temple at Kalabgoor village is in proximity to the Sangareddy town in Medak District. This ancient shrine is dedicated to Lord Venugopala Swamy and is renowned for its beautiful architecture and traditional rituals.

The temple has stepped pyramidal type shikhara. Sri Anantha Padmanabha Swamy temple and Sri Kasi Vishweshwara temple are the other attractions located close to this temple.

Gottam Gutta, also known as the Gottam Gota, is situated near Zaheerabad town. This town has a thick vegetation cover of southern tropical mixed dry deciduous forest.

Edupayala Durga Bhavani Gudi is renowned for its beautiful shrine of Goddess Durga Bhavani, the Mother of the Universe. The place derives its name from the word Edupayalu, meaning seven streams. From the site, tourists can view the Manjira River splitting into seven small streams and again uniting into one.

According to mythology, it is believed that King Janamejaya, grandson of Arjuna, organised the ‘sarpa yagam’ at the site for saving his father Parikshith from a curse. Evidences for the same were found in the form of a layer of ash in the Manjira River bed. The Jatara Fair and Mahashivaratri are celebrated here in the months of March and April.

Zaheerabad is the biggest town in the Medak District that is named after Zaheer Yar Jung, a Paigah Nawab. Sri Ketaki Sangameshwara temple at Jharasangam is one of the prominent attractions of this town. Several tourists visit this temple during the celebration of Mahashivaratri and the month of Sravana.

Another major attraction of this town is the Siddhivinayaka temple. Several tourists visit the temple on Sankat Chaturthi, the fourth day of Magha month, as per the Sanskrit calendar. Sri Dattatreya temple and nearby villages, such as the Algole, Godegarpalle, Buchnelli, Chiragpalle, Dhanasiri and Qasimpur, are other attractions.

The Archaeological Museum in the Kondapur town of Medak District is a popular attraction. This museum exhibits artefacts that were found during excavations conducted at this site. A wide collection of antiquities excavated between 1940 and 1942 has been displayed at the museum.

The excavated material and artefacts displayed at the museum include items belonging to the Satavahana dynasty and few Buddhist structures. Henry Cousens, the famous archaeologist, was the first person to explore the site in the early 19th century.

The site was later excavated by the Indian Government in 1940. The huge collection of discovered artefacts and antiques was kept in the museum established by the state government. The museum came under the control of the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) in 1952.

The museum is segregated into a central hall and two galleries. The main hall of the museum has antiquities, such as terracotta figurines, pottery and objects made from bones and shells. Metal objects, pendants, talismans, beads, inscribed pottery and coins are other artefacts displayed in the museum.

A wide collection of construction material, such as brick tiles, designed panels, sharpening stones and moulded bricks, found during excavations has also been exhibited here.The gold coin of the Roman Emperor Augustus, belonging to the period between 37 BC and 14 AD, was unearthed from the region.

Jharasangam is a town in north-western Sangareddy in the Medak District. The main attraction of the town is the ancient Sangameswara Swamy temple, dedicated to Lord Trimurti, a united form of Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva.


Enter Your Details


> GOA > Swaraj Mazada > ANDAMAN and NICOBAR
Global Tours and Travels
Phone : (40) - 64592666, 24022557
> Pondicherry > Tata Indica > Lakshadweep
> Vizag > Scorpio > Blog
Home | About Us | Tariff Car Rentals | | Request | Contact Us
  Copyrights Reserved @ www.globaltourandtravels.com All Rights Reserved. SEO By SOFTWOOD